It was an early morning-very early indeed. Audition was said to begin at 7am. My friend and I arrived outside the building and in line by 7:05, only to find out we would be in the line for the next 4 hours. We spent 3.5 hours outside, and the last half hour was spent inside the building. Keep in mind that those 3.5 hours were well spent outside in the freezing, windy weather. We had fantastic company, which helped my nerves ease for a while. 

Finally, we made it in the building!  Eventually, the Performers and Supporters had to split up.  That's when I started getting nervous, visibly, shaky nervous. Staff split us up into lines where we handed in some paperwork; and then directed to another room full of chairs. The rows were in seats of 10; these are the 10 people per group per audition room, where more waiting in line had to be done. 

Eventually, my group gets a turn. My nerves were out of control and I couldn't handle the shaking at this point. I wish I had an "on/off" button, but there were none to be found. The man outside collected our paperwork the our name on it, and gave it to the judge. When the nice lady called us inside the room she began calling names. They saved me for last, yet again. Two people in my group sang "Someone Like You", by the most powerful female singer of today, Adele.  When it was my turn, I decided to sing "Angels" by Jessica Simpson. 

Personally, my audition was superb and perfect. I correctly sang the lyrics I chose, and even hit that high note that I planned on doing. It was perfect.

Unfortunately, the one judge in the room proceeded to tell us, "It's a no, but we hope to see you again." I would be lying if I said I was upset, but you live and learn.  As I was walking out of the room to find my friend, a young man in my group came up to me and said, "You were really good, I don't know why you didn't get chosen."


That's okay, it's the experience that counts.  Although there are many people that audition, there are still many others who don't even have the guts to do what I did. And I am very thankful that I did. No regrets here; keep my head up and smile. This is not the end for me.

Maybe XFactor?

<3 JLynn out!



Leave a Reply.